Update (2) on MD Court of Appeals Pit Bull ruling

Posted on Updated on

UPDATE and Correction:

I reported that on Thursday, June 7 2012, the Maryland Court of Appeals rejected the Motion of Reconsideration that was filed by State Farm Insurance and a group of Attorneys.

This information was not correct. What was denied were the Amicus briefs attached to the Motion. The Court now asked the Attorneys of Solesky for a response to the Motion filed.

The joint task force group which was created by  Senate President Thomas V. Mike Miller and House Speaker Michael Busch is working as planned on a solution. Please find the names and e-mail addresses of the 10 members below and e-mail them with your opinion.

Also, the Maryland Animal Law Center is asking for your support:

The Maryland Insurance Commission has asked the MALC to provide commentary and analysis on how Solesky affects you as Maryland insurance consumers. How does and will this affect your lease, your homeowners’ insurance, your business insurance and your other dog-related contracts? Please feel free to briefly comment here but we need more detailed discusssion. Please email your thoughts, comments and copies of any documents that you think are relevant to MarylandAnimalLawCenter@gmail.com. as soon as possible and no later than Wednesday, June 13th. We will respond to all who send information and we will post our report to the Commission as soon as it is complete.

———————————————————————————————————————-

Several things have happened in the last several days and it is important to keep track of it.

State Farm Insurance and a group of attorneys have filed a Motion of Reconsideration with the Maryland Court of Appeals.

Because so many people have spoken up against the MD Court of Appeals ruling the Senate President Thomas V. Mike Miller and House Speaker Michael Busch announced the members of a 10-member task force in a letter to Gov. Martin O’Malley.

The Joint Task Force group will review state law, the court’s decision and laws in other states. The panel also will review the viability and definition of breed-specific standards in Maryland law, a dog owner or landlord’s ability to secure property insurance and existing breed-specific prohibitions in local jurisdictions in Maryland.

Members of the panel are:

Senators:

Brian Frosh, D-Montgomery, Brian.Frosh@senate.state.md.us

Lisa Gladden, D-Baltimore, Lisa.Gladden@senate.state.md.us

Joseph Getty, R-Carroll,  Joseph.Getty@senate.state.md.us

Jamie Raskin, D-Montgomery, Jamie.Raskin@senate.state.md.us

Norman Stone, D-Baltimore County, Norman.Stone@senate.state.md.us

Delegates:

Curt Anderson, D-Baltimore,  Curt.Anderson@house.state.md.us

Eric Bromwell, D-Baltimore County, Eric.Bromwell@house.state.md.us

Benjamin Kramer, D-Montgomery, Benjamin.Kramer@house.state.md.us

Heather Mizeur, D-Montgomery, Heather.Mizeur@house.state.md.us

Michael Smigiel, R-Cecil., Michael.Smigiel@house.state.md.us

Most likely the findings of the Joint Task Force group will be discussed during the special session of the General Assembly in the week of July 9 2012.

I would like to encourage everybody to e-mail the members of the Joint Task Force group and let them know that you would like the ruling of the MD Court of Appeals overturned.

Please also feel free to send e-mails to the following people:

President of the Senate Mike Miller, thomas.v.mike.miller@senate.state.md.us

Speaker of the House Michael Busch, michael.busch@house.state.md.us

Governor O’Malley,  http://www.governor.maryland.gov/mail/

It is very important to voice your opinion in this. Other groups, like the Cult of PETA, have already send out this outrages letter in favor of the ruling and will try to continue influencing the members of the Joint task Force Group.

Advertisements

One thought on “Update (2) on MD Court of Appeals Pit Bull ruling

    […] I reported previously here, The Joint Task Force Group will be meeting on June 19, 2012 in Annapolis, MD for a hearing . […]

Comments are closed.